Rasheeda: The Sweetest Georgia Peach

June 19, 2007 at 9:15 pm | Posted in Interviews | Leave a comment

Written by Jonathan Bolarinwa 


r1.jpg

How’s everything with you? 

Oh, everything’s cool. It is what it is, everything’s cool. (laughs).

 With the new album titled That Type of Girl, what elements and vibe are you bringing to the listeners ears? 

I’m just bringing them me; the album is just an outline of myself and basically the type of thing that I’m on, you could say, experiences from relationships, to typical things that we go through with men. You know as a woman, stuff like that, it’s a well put together album. It’s like a ghetto- street, like classy female oriented driven type of album.

 The first single off the album, “Bubblegum” is definitely making some noise. 

Oh, thank you.

It definitely has an independent woman type feel to it, I was thrown off by the title. Could you explain what a “Bubblegum” is for those who aren’t familiar with the term? 

Um, a “Bubblegum” it differs from every woman. Your “Bubblegum” is what you got about you, your extra little “oomph” your sex appeal something special about you that the fellows like about you. I mean there are different things; I’m sure you got a girl, and there is something special about her that you like that turns you on that draw you towards her that makes feel the way you feel about her. I’m talking about what my “Bubblegum” is on the record, but the “Bubblegum” depends on the woman.

 Oh, Ok. I would have never thought about it that way that was well thought out. I would have never thought about it like that. There’s always a hidden meaning in songs, just got to learn to read between the lines. 

Exactly.

 With the track, “Georgia Peach,” I know it was on the album of the same name, you put the same song on two albums. What’s the premise behind that? 

Actually, what it is and artists do it all the time. It’s like the first album was dropped and it was dropped independently, and it wasn’t really put out there, wasn’t promoted, the record label we actually did the joint venture with basically fell apart in the middle of the project. So, it was unfortunate that we still had to put that album out, but the album was never promoted or anything like that. Basically, what we said was, I got a lot of love from having that on my Myspace, and having one of the songs out at radio. But, I felt the Georgia Peach album was such a great album and I got such a great response off of it just on the Myspace and on the independent wave I was like, ‘Why don’t we take some songs from that album add about 8 or 9 new records and make that the new album.’ Because, so much of that record people haven’t heard.

 Sounds like a plan. 

And I really wanted it to get an opportunity to get out there because I have so many hot songs on there. And I was like you know we had only a certain amount of the units that were put out, it wasn’t even 20,000. I mean there’s so many millions of billions of people in the world I felt the grounds weren’t even covered.

 The independent thing is a tricky game; lucrative but at the same time tricky game. Exactly. (Laughs) With the flack that the hip-hop industry is getting in terms of lyrical content and visuals. Do you think that the tracks that you have on the album like “Touch Ya Toes” and “Let it Clap” would be deemed a little graphic and suggestive. You know because of the title? 

Right. Well, what you have to do is listen to the lyrics because “Let it Clap” is saying: I got a hump in my back/ and every time it hears the bass/ It just wants to clap/ Now let it clap, clap, clap/, Yeah, you’re dancing to the music and the beat. But, people got to understand this is the reality of what goes on, you can’t go around sugar coating things because of specific situations that’s been going on in the political sense, as far as in the media and what people are saying who don’t even do hip- hop music, and you know they want to sit here and point the finger. In a sense, well, lyrically we can clean it up. But, when you think about it on a realistic sense, and I’m asking you this question. How do you think that would work? Do you think that if we did try to clean hip- hop up, it would still be the lucrative business that it is?

Hmm. That’s a tricky question?   

So, basically I look at it like I do sexual records but who doesn’t in a sense especially on the men’s side. But I’m not saying everyone is doing it so I’m gonna do it. But I am saying that I’m a woman, and I do try to keep a line on the music I don’t take it all the way there. I don’t say certain words. You know what I’m saying; I don’t take it all the way to the left. But I do try to be creative and say, “I’m the type of girl/ you wanna chew all up on my bubblegum.”  I make it fun, he wants to see me bend over but, they don’t necessarily mean you are bending. It depends on you, on how you take it and put it, but also don’t forget have a clean album. So, if he wants to se me get lower he can see me get lower and there isn’t anything wrong with that. Ain’t nothing wrong with it we all do it. I did the song off of being in the club and seeing other people doing it.

rasheeda.jpgSo, that’s where the inspiration came from?  

Exactly, that’s exactly how it went down.

 There’s not a lot of female rap artists in the game, what do you think that the other ladies in the game need to do to step their game up? Do you think they need to step their game up, or if the formula works just stick with it? 

Well. To each his own, if the formula works stick with it, but I just know it’s a hard game for any female at this point you know and its like really my hat goes off to all the successful female rappers, cause I know how hard it is, how hard that you have to work, how consistent that you have to be, how you have to put up with so much, how you get so much backlash from so many different things, it’s all gonna come back around again eventually as far as the big successful female MC’s getting out here and really being able to make a difference, sell records, and do it real big. It’s all about the timing. What breaks through at this point? But as women, one thing people got to understand is like as a woman you got to come in and say I need to make records, not actually saying it specifically. But, in my mindset of course it’s just me. I want to walk a line of not being too over the top, keep a sense of class to the music, but also at the same time understanding knowing that I want my fan base to be women what other way to relate to a woman than to hear things come from another woman and being able to relate to women at the same time. You get what I’m saying, it’s kind of confusing (laughs). But you know just being relatable and doing music those other women can say, ‘Wow, she’s finally saying the things. That we should been saying, we got somebody representing for us.’

 Sort of like a dad trying to teach his daughter about that time of the month. Pretty difficult subject matter for an opposite gender to teach. 

Right. (Laughs). It’s just basically being a woman and doing music that other women can relate to talking about subject matter that I have experienced. I’m an everyday average woman, so the things I go through other women go through it too. That’s the grounds I’m going through there.

 What artists do you have on this album? 

Um. On this album I have Akon, Jazze Phae, Pastor Troy, Diamond and Princess from Crime Mob, Candy from Xscape, Fabo from D4L, and that’s the majority of everybody.

 What about on the beat side? 

On the beat side, I have again Akon, Jazze Phae, Don Vito, a producer named Dream. The guy who produced “Bubblegum” and a couple of other records his name is Schwinn, he’s an Asian producer and he’s down with us, and my boy Jasper.

   Have you been touring for the upcoming release? 

I’m gonna be doing a promo tour, starting after Memorial Day. I have a lot of dates already scheduled like spring jams, summer jams, and just lots of dates through out the states like tomorrow, I’ll be in Phoenix, next day Pittsburgh, Myrtle Beach,  then I got stuff  coming up in Virginia, I’m just bouncing around and around. I’m just out here promoting and gaining fans and staying consistent and keeping my face out there.

 That’s quite a stretch bouncing all over the map. 

Yeah. It’s a stretch, but it’s a blessing though because independently I’m covering a lot of new markets and getting out there. The fans are requesting for me to come through, I’m loving that because it’s really hard and I see how thing’s are growing every year.  So, I’m real blessed to be doing what I’m doing and people accepting it.

 Basically, you’re in grind mode. If you had a chance to hit the road with anybody who would it be? 

It’s so funny. I do so many shows with so many different artists. So it would be like what ever would be the hot tour a nice mix with hip- hop as well as R&B.

 Are there any other projects aside from this one that you are working? 

I’m working with Candy from Xscape, we have a group together, and the name of the project is called Peach Candy. I rap she sings we have an incredible album, so you know I’m bumping that on the regular.

 When is that project coming out? 

We have a new single about to drop people will get to hearing that in the next week. We’ll start shipping that out. It came up out of the blue we just started off just doing one record, and then we hooked up and did a whole bunch of records. We came together with some crazy concepts.

       Rasheeda: Dat Type of GurlAlbum in stores now.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

