Phillies Shortstop Jimmy Rollins X 2: Hot Bat as NL HR Leader & Hot Label Coming Soon

April 21, 2007 at 4:36 am | Posted in Hip Hop News/Press Releases | Leave a comment

Philadelphia Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins, an Oakland, California, native and 3 time All-Star, is on a roll. Rollins, possessor of  the longest hitting streak ever compiled by a shortstop in the Major Leagues (at 38 straight games) is currently the National League Home Run Leader with 6 dingers in 12 games.  The speedy switch-hitter, nicknamed J-Roll, is not content to simply be known as a do-it-all lead-off hitter for the Phillies, as he has also launched his own entertainment company: Rollins Entertainment, and record label: Bay Slugga’s Inc.

“I launched my entertainment company because I love challenges. Sports is what I do. I love sports. That came naturally, but I have larger ambitions that extend beyond the playing field. I’ve got my music business up and running and I’m polishing my business skills. Through my business ventures I intend to be a part of something great. Not just in sports, but in life,” Jimmy said.

Rollins is the CEO of Rollins Entertainment, the umbrella company that includes the subsidiary company and new record label: Bay Slugga’s Inc.,  which  Rollins formed after teaming up with Bigg Swoop and Bright Riley of Eyecon Music Group to launch the first two acts Rollins signed to his fledgling label. Rollins is personally overseeing the albums of his newly signed artists, both for his R&B act Sergio and his Bay Slugga’s Inc. label-mate, The League, a cutting edge rap group whose time has come thanks to Jimmy. The project also includes the artistry of multi-platinum superstar producer Mannie Fresh and the extraordinary talents of multi-platinum, master mixologist, Mr. Leslie Braithwaite.

Bay Slugga’s Inc. will be distributed by Universal Music Group‘s Indie distribution arm; Fontana/Eyecon, with the first releases coming during the 2nd and 3rd quarters of 2007. In addition to his Bay Slugga’s record label, Rollins is also a part owner of the HGTV (Home & Garden Television) top rated show “Flip This House.” Rollins also will be launching “The Jimmy Rollins Foundation” this year to provide scholarships for disadvantaged inner city youths in Philadelphia.

“I am not a ‘what if’ kind of person …  I am trying to accomplish and explore everything that I can while I’m still young. That’s why I flipped the script from being an employee of the Phillies to being an employer with Rollins Entertainment. I am a business man. I have advisors and investments and so forth, but I choose to take a proactive role in my business pursuits and with imagination and dedication, create other opportunities for myself as well.” Jimmy said.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

